Shaun Marsh: 2008

Playing for Kings XI Punjab, he became the tournament's highest run-getter with 616 runs at a staggering average of 68.44.

Matthew Hayden: 2009

Matthew Hayden of CSK, who scored 572 runs in 12 innings with 5 half-centuries at an average of 52 and a strike rate of 145.

Sachin Tendulkar: 2010

In 2010, Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian player to clinch the Orange Cap, with 618 runs in 15 innings, at an average of 47.53 and a strike rate of 132.61

Chris Gayle: 2011

In 2011, Chris Gayle from Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), who scored 608 runs in 12 matches, won the Orange Cap.

Chris Gayle: 2012

Gayle's explosive batting yielded a whopping 733 runs in 2012, with remarkable strike rates of 160.74.

Michael Hussey: 2013

Michael Hussey's final season with CSK turned out to be his best as the Aussie equalled Chris Gayle's record from 2012 to score 733 runs.

Robin Uthappa: 2014

Uthappa played six years for Kolkata with his maiden season in 2014 being the most successful. He won the Orange Cap after scoring 660 runs.

David Warner: 2015

In 2015, David Warner from Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) scored 562 runs in 14 matches.

Virat Kohli: 2016

Kohli racked up a staggering 973 runs from 16 matches with an eye-popping four centuries and seven fifties as RCB finished runner-up.

David Warner: 2017

Warner won the Orange Cap in the 2017 IPL by scoring 641 runs and Bhuvneshwar Kumar's 26 wickets won him the Purple Cap.

Kane Williamson: 2018

Kane Williamson became the first New Zealand player to win the orange cap in the IPL when he scored 735 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2018.

David Warner: 2019

Warner completed his IPL 2019 campaign with 692 runs. He received the Orange cap for the third time, more than any player in IPL history.

KL Rahul: 2020

With 670 runs to his name, Kings XI Punjab captain KL Rahul creates history as he becomes the first Indian player to win the Orange Cap for Kings XI Punjab.

Ruturaj Gaikwad: 2021

In IPL 2021, Ruturaj Gaikwad amassed 635 runs in 16 matches, won the Orange Cap and made a mark for himself among the elites in CSK.

Jos Buttler: 2022

Jos Buttler won the Orange Cap after finishing with a record-breaking 863 runs in the season in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

Shubman Gill: 2023

Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023; Shubman Gill scored 890 runs in IPL 2023; Gill is captaining Gujarat Titans in IPL 2024.

2024 TBD

Swipe Up to read more stories about Indian Premier League and more.